RSS Feed

Oktoberfest

Last weekend, our little town had its first Oktoberfest.  I determined that Oktoberfest is basically an excuse to drink beer.

There’s always a German band to make it feel like a cultural experience and make you feel better about drinking beer.  (I was a little disappointed that only one member was wearing lederhosen.)

And of course, a few people will actually try to do the polka.

The high school German club was there, selling Advent calendars — you know, the ones with the chocolate inside.  Chef was very excited about it, so we bought one.

Also, in what felt a little bit random, the town’s new Disc Golf club was there, telling people about the course they’ve got set up now at the old Lion’s Club Park and recruiting new players.  Chef and I tried it out.

We weren’t very good at it, but Chef started to get the hang of it the more he tried.

There was food, too (bratwurst and German potato salad), but we didn’t get any.  First of all, we had a limited amount of money with us (and the beer and Advent calendar took up most of it).  But the bigger reason was that I was pretty sure I was going to be disappointed in the German potato salad because I really like the recipe I make.  I can’t imagine anyone else’s is as good.  After all, I’m over half German (I think), so I know what I’m doing!

Except I don’t know how to polka.  I need to remedy that before next year’s Oktoberfest.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

