RSS Feed

Book Review: The Season of Second Chances

I had just finished The Hunger Games, but the next book in the series wasn’t available from the library yet (I’m on the waiting list) so I pulled out a book my mother-in-law had passed on to me.  It didn’t look all that interesting, but I figured I’d try it.

The Season of Second Chances is a long, rambly book about an unlikeable character.  Joy is anything but joyful.  She is a self-absorbed misanthrope who fails to connect with anyone in her life until she is practically forced to do so.  When this happens, you think she’s going to change into a more likeable character, but she doesn’t.  She participates in others’ lives (because others’ lives are thrust upon her), but only in her actions — not with her heart.

Joy is the narrator of this story, and I can’t count how many times I wished she’d shut up and get to the point.  Or, that she’d let the other characters talk for once.  There are pages and pages of narration without any conversation.  Meier uses narration to tell about all the other characters in the novel, rather than showing you who these people are through their conversations and actions.  Backstory is long, detailed, and retold completely by Joy, rather than having it come out in conversations and events throughout the novel.  And that’s an exceedingly dull way to give information.

The only reason I finished this book is because I was planning to review it here.  So here is my review.  My recommendation?  Spend your time doing something more enjoyable than reading this book.  Watch water boil.  Cut your toenails.  Look for split ends in your hair.

Score: 1/10

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

