RSS Feed

Competition

Last Saturday, I ran what will probably be my last race of the season — a 5K at a local university.  I met my mother-in-law at her house and we headed over.

My, everyone looked young.  And fit.  But as I was not racing against them (only against myself), it didn’t matter.  Right?

Right.

The day was very chilly and the wind blew fiercely.  I had almost left my hat and gloves behind, and I was so glad I had changed my mind.  I definitely needed them.

The route went through parts of campus and into the surrounding neighborhoods.  The sun shone beautifully through the cold breeze, and the changing leaves were a sight lovely enough to distract me from my freezing cheeks.

I had started relatively slowly, careful not to go out too fast.  The nice thing was that either my competitors started too fast or I picked up momentum along the way.  I picked off one girl, then the guy in front of her, then a man and woman running together.  It feels good to pass people.

I was ever-so-close to the finish when I heard thundering footsteps behind me.  Someone was trying to catch up and beat me!  I turned on the speed I had left, and sadly it wasn’t quite enough.  The man I had just passed ended up beating me by one second.

When Chef was a little boy, he used to pretend that whenever his family was in the car driving, they were in a race.  He loved passing other cars.  And when a car passed them (he said this happened often because his dad drove too slowly for Chef’s taste), that car was disqualified.

So I figure, the man who passed me was disqualified, right?

Oh wait, I wasn’t supposed to be racing against other people — just myself.

Well, I’m not racing against other people when they pass me.  But when I pass them, I AM BEATING THEM!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

