RSS Feed

Bounty

Chef and I decided during the spring that it would be a fun idea to weigh all the produce we harvested from our garden.  I wanted to know just how much we raised.  So we’ve been keeping track ever since the first greens came into the house.

Last week, the scale broke (it’s electronic, and it got wet) so now Chef is just estimating (because it would be a bad idea for me to estimate — I’m not so good with weights and measures) but we do know that we have so far harvested over seventy pounds of produce!  I’m pleasantly surprised.  I really didn’t have any idea how much we would get, and to know that we’ve had seventy pounds of vegetables from our own garden is wonderful!  And the growing season is not yet over.  There are still cabbages and leeks and a few peppers and broccoli and some tomatoes out there.

Chef’s going to consider this fall what was worth growing and what wasn’t.  I know we won’t try pumpkins again — at least not in our current location.  He felt the peas weren’t worth the effort, but we did get LOTS of lettuce and kale and collard greens and Swiss chard.  Our jalapeños and Anaheim peppers have done quite well, and the potatoes did okay.

I would love to have more things we can preserve either by freezing or canning.  We’ve eaten all the tomatoes we harvested, as well as the potatoes.  We’re freezing some of the peppers and squash.  There doesn’t seem to be much you can do to preserve lettuce, which is too bad because we had a LOT of lettuce and other greens.

I wonder how much money we’ve saved by growing seventy pounds of produce?

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

