RSS Feed

Late July Garden Update

Posted on

The lettuce continues to grow, but since the temperatures have gotten so hot, the lettuce tastes bitter.  Actually, I wasn’t so crazy about the lettuce mix Chef planted this year anyway — I thought it always tasted a little bitter.  But it keeps growing, and we’ve had so much lettuce that he’s actually stopped picking it.  I think he’s going to dig up the lettuce patch and plant some cold weather crops soon.

It hasn’t been raining much lately (I saw on the news that this is the dryest July on record), so Chef’s had to set the sprinkler on the garden.

The bugs don’t seem to mind the hot weather.  And as long as they are pollinating the plants and not biting me, I’m okay with them.

Don’t you like the nifty treatment I got on this next photo?  It’s all misty and ethereal.

And it’s because my lens kept fogging up because it was so hot and humid outside.  But it’s a pretty picture of a volunteer acorn squash nonetheless.

The cabbage is forming heads.

And the cherry tomatoes are doing very well.  These are Sunsugars — our very favorites.  They rarely even make it into the house.  They’re so good we eat them right off the plant.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

