RSS Feed

Lost & Found

Posted on

Sunday morning, I went for a short run.  My running clothes weren’t too sweaty & stinky, so when I took a shower, I just left them on the bathroom floor because I knew I was going to wear them again on Tuesday.

At least, I thought I’d left them on the bathroom floor.

When I looked for them Tuesday morning to put them in my gym bag, they weren’t there.  The shoes were there, but not the shorts, the shirt, or the sports bra.  So I figured I must have put them on the floor next to the bed.  But they weren’t there.  I looked in the laundry hampers, thinking maybe I decided they needed to be washed after all.  No luck.  I looked in the wardrobe where I keep my clean running stuff.  Nothing.

I found something else to wear for Tuesday, and left Chef a note that I’d lost them.  When I got home, he said he didn’t know where they were either.  I started looking again, with Chef helping.  We looked under beds and chairs and couches and dressers.  I even looked under the bathtub.  I looked in the toy box and in drawers and rooms and closets that didn’t make any sense, but I looked there anyway.

Finally, out of desperation, I called my sister-in-law.  Her family had been at our house for dinner Monday and I thought that maybe her boys were playing upstairs and moved the clothes.  It seemed terribly unlikely, but I couldn’t think what else might have happened.  But no, her boys hadn’t even gone upstairs.

I knew that had been a long shot, but now what?  The dogs wouldn’t have moved them — and if they had, they would not have moved all three pieces of clothing and they couldn’t have put them someplace where I couldn’t find them.

It was ridiculous.  Frustrating.  Where were my running clothes?

Finally, it was time for bed on Tuesday night.  Randomly, I picked up a pair of Chef’s shorts that were lying on top of the trunk that sits at the foot of our bed.

And there were my running clothes, where I suspect they’d been sniggering at me the whole time.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

