RSS Feed

Setbacks Stink

Posted on

This month, the premiums on my health insurance increased.  The company I work for pays a certain dollar amount of the cost, and before the increase, that covered my whole premium.  Now, about $50 a month comes out of my check to pay for it.

I realize that $50 a month is not huge when it comes to health insurance.  Also, I am thankful that we have insurance.

However, I was rather disappointed that the partners in the company, when I asked (very reasonably, I thought) to increase the amount they were paying for insurance, said no.  (There are many other frustrating details to this story which I won’t go into because recounting them makes me grouchy.)

The end result is that my paychecks are smaller now.  And when we’re scrupulously budgeting every penny and cutting back on expenses as much as possible, and especially when we already had a reduction in income less than a year ago, it’s just super frustrating.

Some days, it even makes me growl a little bit.

Grrrrr.

I’m going to go back and read my post about Pa Ingalls now and be thankful that I’m not walking 300 miles in patched boots to find work.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

