RSS Feed

Aquaponics on Hold

Posted on

The leak in the fish tank is fixed.

There are now three bell siphons working or mostly working.

The pump works.

Chef knows where he’s going to get his fish, though that won’t happen until he’s had plants growing for about a month.

I think he knows what he’s going to use for a grow medium in the grow beds.  (In case you didn’t know, you don’t use dirt.  Pebbles or gravel or some such thing works better.)

We’re making lists of what kinds of things we want to grow.  It will be nice to have fresh, homegrown produce all year long.  My contributions to the list include strawberries, basil, cilantro, rosemary, ginger, bell peppers, and carrots.  Chef wants cabbages and tomatoes, too.  We tend to ogle over seed catalogs (though Chef’s more of an ogler than I am.)

(If ogler is even a word.)

(And even if it’s not a word, he still is one.)

The original goal was to have things up and running by the end of the summer, which technically would be September 20th or so, but in my head it’s August 31.

Will we make the goal?

Right now, we have to wait until we have more money before we can move forward.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

