RSS Feed

Goodbye, US Bank World Perks Visa

Posted on

After what seemed like forever, we finally got that stupid US Bank World Perks Visa paid off.  Hooray!

In reality, we’ve been hitting that one hard for only six months, so it hasn’t really been that long.  I am glad to see it go!

Three more are left: a Fifth/Third Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC) (And by the way, I’d just like to express here how stupid a name I think Fifth/Third is.  Are you fifth?  Or are you third?  Perhaps eighth or fifteenth?  Whatever.), a Citibank Visa, and a Frontier Mastercard.  Together they total a little over $22,000.

We’re looking at May 2012 to have it all paid off.

And then we’ll start on the mortgage.

A bit of advice for my nieces and nephews who might read this blog… and for anyone else who would like some advice.  Don’t get into debt.  It takes way longer to get out than to get in.  And it’s not any fun getting out.  So just don’t ever take on debt.  Seriously.  If you have to work your way through college and it takes you seven years instead of four, so be it.  If you have to rent an apartment for eight or ten years while you save up for a house, that’s okay.

Debt stinks.

I’m tired of holding my nose.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

