RSS Feed

Book Review: Wicked Lovely

Posted on

Aislinn can see faeries.  So could her mother (now deceased) and so can her grandmother with whom Aislinn lives.  Aislinn and her grandmother protect themselves the best they can — pretending they don’t see faeries, doing their best not to draw the attention of the faeries, and surrounding themselves with steel and other items by which faeries are repelled.

Nevertheless, Aislinn catches the eye of the Summer King, who won’t leave Aislinn alone.  She fights against his attentions, but finds herself drawn into the world of faeries when she realizes that the decisions she has to make affect not just her or the faeries, but the human race as well.

Melissa Marr weaves together dozens of faerie myths with modern living conditions and technology, and in the center puts a tough-minded girl who can make strong decisions about her life and future.  The story was interesting, and while it wasn’t a book I couldn’t put down, it drew me in enough that I finished it in two days on a camping trip.  Those who enjoy fantasy and strong female characters would likely enjoy this book.

Score: 8/10

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

