RSS Feed

Going Green or Going Cheap?

Posted on

When I need supplies for the house, I like to go to the Dollar General.  It’s not because the DG has a great selection or fabulous quality or even fantastic prices.

It’s because it’s less than two miles from my house.

And I can ride my bicycle.

And with gas prices hovering around $4.00 per gallon, I love the old Sonic Flyer as much as ever.

I love the basket on the front.  Sure, it’s kind of beat up and it’s held on with wire ties, but it works.  It holds shampoo bottles and boxes of Q-tips and such just fine.

Last time I went to the DG, I loaded up my own bags — a canvas tote, a burlap shoulder bag, and a nylon backback — because those flimsy yellow things they call bags hardly keep from tearing when you throw them in your car.  They’re a lot worse if you’re trying to carry them on your bike.  So when the cashier checked me out I bagged my own items.  Then I stuffed the canvas bag in the basket, slung the burlap bag over my chest, and hooked the backpack over my shoulders.  And Red Flame and I pedaled back home.

And I thought to myself, someone else observing me might think I’m a tree hugger.  I’m avoiding carbon emissions by not driving my car.  I’m avoiding adding to landfills by not using disposable bags.

That’s all wonderful.  Pollution is bad, and I don’t want to contribute to that.

But the reality is that I’m cheap.  I don’t want to pay for stuff if I don’t have to.  So if I can bike to the store and save my gasoline for some other trip, I’ll do it.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

