RSS Feed

Long Run

Posted on

On Friday, I went for my longest long run yet since surgery.

Five miles.

I got up that morning, unsure of whether I’d go to the Y to run or just run outside.  It has been rainy and chilly lately, and I wasn’t really interested in running in bone-chilling dampness.  But when I stuck my head out the door, it felt plenty warm enough to run outdoors.  So I put on my running tights and my reflective vest and headed out.

It was so nice to be back on the road again.  The five mile loop I run is my favorite running route.  It takes me into some pretty country on the edge of town, and sometimes I see horses or sheep or chickens along the way.  The sun was coming up, and while it was still cloudy from the night’s rain and I couldn’t see any kind of spectacular sunrise, the gradual lightening of the sky made me feel like Indiana was waking up at the same time I was.

Despite having a tightness in my right Achilles at the beginning, I didn’t have to stop to walk or stretch or anything.  I kept running the whole time.

I admit, I probably let my pace slow a bit in the middle simply because I was enjoying the view so much.  But I picked it up again at the end, and wound up with a time of 55:12:46 — just over an 11 minute per mile pace.

And for me, that’s pretty good.  Especially at just four months after foot surgery.  Even before surgery, I’m not sure I was running five-milers that fast.

I don’t know for sure if I’ll hit my time goal on my 5K on April 30, but I’m feeling pretty good about it.

Mostly, though, I’m just feeling pretty good about running.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

