RSS Feed

Getting Older

Posted on

It’s evident.  He’s getting older.

He just doesn’t move quite as well as he used to.  I didn’t think I’d see his age showing quite so soon, but I’m seeing it nonetheless.

A few weeks ago, we had a bunch of kids visiting.  I didn’t see it, but I suspect the kids were rough with him, climbing on him.  And while I know he loved it, he was limping for a day or two after that.

And he doesn’t jump into the car as easily as he used to.  Now we have to lift him in.  And he’s a big guy to be trying to lift into the car.

Wait… you didn’t think I was talking about my husband did you?  No.  He might be 40 now, but he’s still very active, playing soccer as often as he can and carving ice like crazy.  And he gets into the car just fine.

It’s Gryffon.  He’s the dog on the right in the photo.  He will turn six this May, but I can tell his hip bothers him.  His limp after those kids played with him (and, I suspect, tried to ride him like a horse) was pretty bad.  He got over it and seems to feel better now, but I was concerned.  And while he used to be nimble, jumping over baby gates and into and out of the car with ease, now Chef and I have to lift him in.  And since he’s well over 70 pounds, that’s no easy task.

Unfortunately, that means Gryffon has to stay home sometimes instead of coming with us somewhere.  It’s just too hard to get him into the car.

He probably has hip dysplasia.  Lots of bigger dogs do, and I think it’s fairly common with this breed.  But we’re not going to pay for him to have surgery or other expensive treatments.  Maybe we’ll have to get a ramp for him to get into the car.  Maybe we’ll have to try to exercise him more often.  I just didn’t think it would even be an issue with a six-year-old dog.

Poor guy.  We love him.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

