RSS Feed

Gardening Season Has Begun!

Posted on

And we are three and a half months ahead of where we were last year!

In 2010, we planted our first seeds on June 30.  A bit late.  I really didn’t figure we’d get much of anything.  But our tomato plants (which we did not start from seed, and did get into the ground by mid-June, I think) did pretty well considering the dry conditions.  And the things we did plant from seed didn’t do too awfully.  We had quite a bit of lettuce, a couple of meals’ worth of green beans, and some turnips.  Chef had purchased some sad-looking broccoli and collard green plants at the end of the season, and they fared much better than I’d anticipated.

But this year, we’re much more on the ball.  We’ve got some tomato seeds started in the house (and I just hope they get enough light.)  And Tuesday when I got home from work, Chef was outside, planting Swiss chard and snow peas.

The snow peas were appropriate because we did get some snow a couple of days later.

The peas, called Early Alaska, are now in the ground along this fence.

The twine web on the fence is an attempt to see if we can get the peas, and later beans, to grow on the twine.  By this morning, though, part of it had already fallen down.  I suggested we buy some snow fencing to tack up along the fence.  Chef said he thought that was a good idea.  Now we just need to see if we can find snow fence in March.

 

Yup.  Under that soil are some nice little pea seeds.

And in the little garden wagon that Chef made me for my birthday (but which he has used more than I have), he planted the Swiss chard.

I would like it noted that this was MY birthday wagon where he planted the Swiss chard.  And I don’t even like Swiss chard.

And Chef wrote on the seed packets when he planted the seeds so that he can estimate better when the plants will be ready to harvest.

I’m still not sure we really know what we’re doing.  It’s another year of experimenting, but at least we know some things we didn’t know last year.

And we are soooo happy to have our garden started!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

