RSS Feed

When the Husband’s Away

My husband somehow seems to manage to avoid crisis.  That’s not to say that he’s never experienced crisis, but he sure does seem to be gone a lot when crisis hits at our house.

In 2005, a huge ice storm hit our area of the state.  Although I lucked out and lost electricity for only about 12 hours, many families in our area were out of power for days.  Chef was golfing in Myrtle Beach.

In 2007, Chef was in Alaska.  We had one of the coldest winters I can remember.  The furnace seemed to stop working and there was a puddle underneath the water heater.  I was concerned that both the furnace and the water heater had gone out.  (Both turned out to be fine, but it was a stressful couple of days.)

In January, I came down with a terrible stomach bug.  I was in bed all day the first day, and I didn’t eat anything at all.  The next day I dragged myself to the kitchen to make myself Jell-O, which was all I ate for a day and a half.  I had stomach cramps for a total of three days and ate very little for about a week.  Chef was away at an ice carving competition.

And this week, just after Chef left for Alaska for the World Ice Art Championships, I found water in the basement.  Lots of it.  At its highest, I measured two inches.  Chef’s dad brought a pump last night to get it pumped out.  And Chef’s just working away, in his favorite state in the union, doing what he loves.

But when he comes back, he’ll probably have to dig a sump pit so we can install a sump pump.  Ha.  So there.

In the mean time, you can watch him carving in the Single Block Classic by clicking on this link to the web cam.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

