RSS Feed

Nine Weeks Post-Op Bunionectomy

Just in case you’re not sick of pictures of my feet yet:

Wow.  You almost can’t tell which foot had the more recent surgery.  (It’s the left one, by the way.)

That left foot is still more swollen than I’d like.  I know I don’t really remember how things were at this point after my first surgery, but I didn’t think I was still this swollen.  However, I also wasn’t working out as much then as I am now.  I go to the gym five or six days a week and work out for an hour to an hour and a half, so it could be that all the activity is keeping it swollen.  I would need to ask a medical professional about that.

I was hardly limping this morning, so I thought I’d try out the treadmill for a bit.  I lasted about five minutes.  I am limping, and walking too much still kind of hurts.  So I gave that up and went for the stationary bike and the elliptical instead.

I tried a yoga class on Wednesday.  That was a mistake as well.  I didn’t realize how much pressure you put on the ball of your foot and how much you are up on your toes in a yoga class.  I had to modify a bunch of moves, and by the end I felt like I’d pulled something in my left hip.  I won’t be going back to yoga for quite some time.

Still, I know that I’m more active than I was after my first surgery.  Heck, I might be more active than I was before my first surgery.  And aside from the swelling and soreness, I feel pretty good.

Hooray!

Back to the doctor in five weeks.

Just for your information, I just found this (kind of blurry) photo from nine weeks after my first surgery:

So I guess I was still swollen then, too.  But I know that two weeks later, I was given permission to run, so there’s still hope right?

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

