RSS Feed

Ditching Old Shoes

Now that I’ve had surgery on both feet, it’s time to think about buying new shoes.

I’ve always hated shoe shopping.  But maybe that’s because it has always been so hard to find shoes that fit.  They had to be wide at the forefoot to accomodate a bunion, but not so wide that they slipped at the heel.  There couldn’t be any seams over the bunion, because those would rub and hurt.  I wore heels sometimes, even though that was probably not the best idea, but the heels were never very high.

Now, I’m nearly ready to buy some new shoes.  (We’re budgeting for them so that I will purchase them with cash, of course.)

I’m ditching my old shoes.

(See anything you like?  You can have them!)

Some of these shoes are in poor shape anyway.  I knew last spring that it was time to replace some of my work shoes, but I held off, knowing that I was going to have surgery.  (Why buy new shoes when they might not fit right in a few months anyway?)  So I wore my old, broken down, scuffed shoes for longer than they looked good.

And now I’m ready to get something new!

New running shoes are definitely on the list.  I need to have a new gait analysis.  I feel like I don’t pronate as much as I did before the surgery, but I don’t know if that’s accurate.  I don’t know if bunions and overpronation are related.  But I want to make sure I’ve got shoes that will really work for me when I start running again.

I need some new dress shoes, too, but I’m doing it differently this time.  NO HEELS.  Yeah, I could probably get away with wearing them, but look.  I just spent thousands of dollars to have my feet fixed.  I’m not going to consciously do anything that might wreck them again.  Plus, there are plenty of cute shoes out there that aren’t heels.

And probably no slides.  I’m pretty sure I gave myself shin splints a couple of summers ago by wearing shoes without backs on them.  So I’m going to avoid those, too.

I need to wait until my left foot is no longer swollen so that I can get a proper fit.  I figure another six to eight weeks should do it.

Will I still hate shoe shopping?  Or will shoes become a new fetish?

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

