RSS Feed

Endorphins and a Twelve-Year-Old Mind

Over the weekend, I was hanging out with my friend Gina and her twelve-year old son David.  I was telling them how I had been to the gym every day that week and it was soooo nice to get moving again.  I was saying that on Tuesday, the first day that I had worked out in weeks, I was so happy.  I felt like I could have been on that stationary bike all night long.  The endorphins were filling my brain, and I actually felt kind of high.

“High?” David said in alarm.  “That’s not good!”

Gina and I had to explain that there’s such a thing as a natural high.

“But when the kids at school talk about being high, they’re talking about drugs!”

Gina said, “That’s because people take drugs to try to get the same kind of high that you can sometimes get naturally.”

And I tried to explain about endorphins and how they are released in your brain when you exercise and it makes you feel good.

David didn’t quite get it.  Finally, I just assured him that I was not doing drugs; I just was really really happy to be exercising.

He seemed a little bit skeptical, but willing to trust me.

Sort of.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

