RSS Feed

Moving Along

In May of 2009, Chef and I got on board with Dave Ramsey and got on a budget and started kickin’ our debt with a Snowball.  And I know we’re getting there, for the following reasons:

1. The periodic last payment on a debt which results in us requesting closure of an account and me doing a dance.  (My sister has requested that I post a video of this dance.  Hmmm… perhaps.)

2. An increased number of credit card offers in the mail.  We went from getting maybe one a month when our debt was high to three or four a week now.  It’s like they figured out that we’ll actually pay our bills or something.

3. Lower monthly payments.  That seems obvious, but lemme ‘splain.  Chef makes all the debt payments and keeps track of everything on a nifty spreadsheet.  So while I’m aware of the total amount we’re putting toward the debt each month, I don’t really keep tabs on how much we have to pay.  But he told me the other night that when we started, our total minimums equaled about $2000.  Now it’s around $600.  That’s minimums, people.  That shows what a money-suck debt can be.

4. Peace of mind.  Knowing that we are still paying around $2000 a month toward our debt but that, if something happened, we could reduce our payments to $600 for a while — well, that’s a huge relief.  Of course, we want to keep hammering at the debt as much as possible, but it’s amazing to know that in case of emergency, we’ve got over $1000 a month to use without missing payments or incurring more debt.

We’re not done yet, but we’re certainly on our way.

And I feel really good about that.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

