RSS Feed

Bunionectomy: Five Weeks Post-Op

Yippee!  I’m five weeks post-op on my left foot (21 weeks post-op on the right).  Next week I go back to see Dr. Herbst.  I suspect he’ll say I can start wearing regular shoes again.  I hope I’m healing up okay — what with my big dogs stepping on my foot all the time and a few mishaps I had in December (like tripping over that silly rug), I’m a smidge concerned that I’ve hindered the healing.

Pain:  I can’t really say I’m having pain.  There is still discomfort sometimes.  I’m trying to remember if it’s worse than it was at this point after my last surgery, but I didn’t keep very good notes (thinking that surely I’d remember) so I don’t really know.  Sometimes the discomfort feels like it’s in the bone or muscle, and sometimes it’s more a skin / scar thing.  Usually it’s on the inside of the foot (where the bunion was removed) and sometimes it’s under the smaller incision (where I think the tendons were stretched, or released, or something.)  I’d rate the discomfort as a 3 on a scale of 1-10, 10 being the most pain.  It’s more annoying than painful.

Swelling:  Yeah, it’s still there.  I don’t like using the cryo-cuff because, gosh darn it, it’s cold outside and sometimes when I get home from work I’m cold and the last thing I want to do is make my foot even colder.  I should probably be using it more than I am, but I being cold in January tends to make me mopey.

Walking:  I’m getting around pretty well without the crutches.  I can manage stairs almost like a normal person.  The worst is when I am in the snow and my foot gets cold and wet.  I have started bringing a bread bag to work to slip over my foot in case I have to clean snow off my car before I go home.  I keep the boot on pretty much all the time, but if I have to get out of bed in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom, I take my chances without it.  I know, I live on the edge.

Incisions: They’re still a little scabbed and there’s still a little bit of purple marker in there.  But the incisions are still too tender to scrub.

Photo:

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

