RSS Feed

The Cause of My Bunions

I recently went to see my chiropractor.  I like my chiropractor; he has really helped me with the lower back pain I’d been having.  I was on crutches of course, and he asked why.  I reminded him that I’d had a second bunionectomy (I had previously told him that I was planning to have the surgery.)

“I bet you won’t wear constricting shoes anymore now,” he said.

Grr.  That comment irritated me.  “I never did,” I said.

I have had bunion pain for 26 years.  Since I’m 35 years old, that’s most of my life.

I can remember being about nine years old and asking my mother, “Is it supposed to rain soon?”

“Yes,” she replied.  “Why do you ask?”

“Oh, I thought so,” I said.  “My bunions hurt.”

Yes, at nine years old I could predict rain and sense humidity with foot pain.

If only I’d harnessed that ability, I could have been a top-notch meteorologist. Or a successful farmer.

The pain was irritating but not horrible for many years.  The deformity of my foot did prevent me from wearing certain kinds of shoes — and I’m not even talking about pointy, high-heeled numbers.  Flat dress shoes with buckles across the forefoot were out because the buckle inevitably was right on top of the bunion.  Shoes with seams in a certain area were out because they rubbed.  Even running shoes had to have mesh where the bunion was, or I couldn’t wear them.

When I was in my early twenties, I saw a doctor about my feet.  “You will need surgery someday,” he told me.  “But put it off as long as possible.  Wait until you just can’t take it anymore.”  He prescribed orthotics for me, and those significantly helped relieve the pain.

Ten years went by, and my orthotics didn’t feel like they were doing the job anymore.  That’s when I went to a doctor again.  And after discussing it with the doctor and with Chef, I decided that now was the time.  I couldn’t run anymore without pain setting in within two miles.  Shoes were becoming more difficult to find and more expensive to purchase.  I was tired of hurting.  I felt that the time of “can’t take it anymore” had arrived.

But, though my chiropractor might be skeptical, I didn’t do anything to cause my bunions.  It’s in the family — both my parents and one of my sisters have them, though they have not experienced the pain with theirs that I’ve had with mine.

I’m glad I waited as long as I did, but I am also glad I had the surgery.  I’m glad I found a great orthopedist.

And I’m really looking forward to being pain-free.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

