RSS Feed

Bunionectomy: Four Weeks Post-Op

Bathing: Last week I talked about how dangerous it felt to shower on one foot.  Now that I’m able to put a lot more weight on the left foot, I’m showering instead of taking baths now.  That’s nice.  When I want to get clean, I want a shower.  Baths are, in my opinion, for soaking and relaxing and reading a book.  Utilitarian baths aren’t much fun.

Pain: My pain is minimal and generally occurs only when I’ve bumped the foot (sharp pain) or put too much weight on the foot for too long (soreness.)

Or when my 75 pound dog steps on my foot.

Walking: Right after last week’s post, I discovered I could put more weight on my foot than I’d realized.  While I can’t put much weight on the ball of the foot, and I’m still wearing the stiff post-op shoe, I can put weight on the heel and the side of my foot enough to walk without crutches.  I officially ditched the crutches on Monday, which was three weeks, three days post-op.

At the beginning of the week I was limping so much I had some pain in my left hip (the left foot is the sore one).  As I become better able to walk, the hip pain has subsided.

Incisions: The large one is still puffy and has lots of purple marker in it.  The smaller one looks pretty good.

Swelling: Swelling is still minimal.  In fact, I hardly notice it unless my foot gets hot for some reason, which, in this weather doesn’t happen too often.  I do still use a cryocuff a few days a week.  I want to keep that swelling down as much as I can.  You can see in the pictures below that my little piggies look a little fat.

Photos:

It looks all wrinkly because I’d just taken the wrap off of it to take a picture.  One of my friends told me last night that the left foot “looks kind of gnarly,” and I don’t think she meant the kind of gnarly we used in the 80’s that was synonomous with awesome and rad.  (The right foot is now 20 weeks post-op.)

 

Here’s the side view.  The you can see that it’s kind of scabbing where the bandage had been wrapped too tightly immediately after surgery.  That part of my foot is still a little bit tender.

I have big goals to clean my house this weekend — we’ll see how it goes!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

