RSS Feed

The Day Everything Broke

December 26, 2010 was the day everything broke.  Everything.

Okay, just two things.  But those two things caused dismay and made it an adventuresome day.  And it wasn’t a happy adventure, like going skiing for the first time or flying to Hawaii.

Sunday, the Colts were playing the Raiders.  I woke up from a three hour (!) nap a little after four o’clock, and realized that I was missing the game.  So I hopped across the living room, grabbed the remote, and switched on the TV.  Nothing.  Blue screen of death.

 

Chef got home from work shortly after, and he wiggled the cord around and tried to do the magic that he’s generally so good at when trying to get a television signal.

 

Then he said those horrifying words:

“I think I just broke it altogether.”

Our antenna has been troublesome since we got it.  We’ve had to turn the receiver, wiggle the cord,  and sometimes hold the cable under our armpits to get a signal in.  But it was better than having no antenna at all.  And cheaper than paying for cable or dish.

But finally, it seems, the cord had had enough.  Chef thinks it’s dead.

So, because Colts football is important to us, Chef switched on the radio for me to listen to the game while he ran to the store with some cash to buy a new antenna.

He brought it home and hooked it up.

And wiggled it around, trying to get a signal.

 

The results were less than satisfying.  It was worse than our old antenna was (before it broke, anyway).  We didn’t get any channels except for PBS, which we can get with no antenna at all.

And PBS is okay, but it doesn’t have Colts football.

Thankfully, our friend Sarah stopped by and saw our distress.  She invited us over to her house (where they have dish) to watch the second half of the game.

And then we watched Inception, which I think I will need to watch again in order to really understand it.  Good movie, though.

Then, we went home and I went to bed, and Chef went back to the shop to work on the sculptures he’s got going out this week.  I wasn’t sleeping well, and I kept waking up, wondering when he’d get home.  Finally at around four o’clock in the morning, I heard him come into the bedroom.

“Hey,” he said.  “I didn’t want you to worry.  My CNC broke, so I’ve got to fix it and finish the logos.”

CNC stands for Computerized Numeric Controller.  It’s a machine that enables Chef to create perfect logos, like this one:

 

So without the machine working, the logos weren’t going to get done.

At ten before six Monday morning, Chef texted me and said that the CNC was “only kind of working” and while his logos for Monday were nearly finished, he’d need to stay to try to get the machine fixed so that he could work on stuff for the rest of the week.

And the week of New Year’s is always a very busy week.

I have confidence that he will get the CNC fixed.  If he has to put money into it, his business emergency fund should cover it.

But a TV with no reception is hardly an emergency.  We have toyed with the idea of budgeting for cable or dish, but it just doesn’t seem like a wise use of money, especially not while we’re still paying off debt.  We like getting free TV.  So Chef found another antenna on e-Bay for less than he had paid for the new antenna that didn’t work.  And we’re hoping that one will work.

And I’m hoping the Day Everything Broke does not infect the rest of our home.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

