RSS Feed

Bunionectomy: Two Weeks Post-Op

Surgery was December 10.

Pain Medication: For the first three days, I was taking the maximum amount of Percocet (oxycodone) permitted, along with ibuprofin to manage the swelling.  By one week post-op, I was not taking as much Percocet, and shortly after I switched to Vicodin (oxycodone, which is still a narcotic, but not as strong.)  By the end of the second week, I was taking Vicodin only as needed, and ibuprofin when I remembered.

Post-Op Visit: I had my first post-op appointment with the doctor on December 20.  The nurse unwrapped the foot and removed the staples, which hurt, but not as much as it hurt last time.  The smaller incision popped open just a little bit by the end of the appointment, so the nurse taped it back together and gave me some Steri-strips so that I can tape it if that one comes off.

I asked the doctor why I was having pain on the outside of my foot.  He looked at it and said either he’d gotten bandage wrapped a little too tight, or I’d rested my foot on that side while I was still numb.  Either way, the pressure on the outside of the foot essentially caused damage to the skin, and there is a lot of dead skin there now.  He said that I can expect a large piece of skin to slough off when bathing at some point.

They took x-rays and the doctor said it looks good.  I go back again January 21.

Walking: I will be on crutches for several more weeks.  I am permitted to put weight on the heel of my foot only, but right now it hurts to put much weight on the foot at all.  If I am sitting down, putting on my pants or something, I can put enough weight on the heel of the left foot to balance myself, but I can’t use that leg for walking at all yet.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

