RSS Feed

Dear Running…

Dear Running,

I have some bad news.  I’m going to have to break up with you for a while.

I know, we’ve just been getting re-acquainted after our break-up in August.  I’ve enjoyed the short dates we’ve had in the last few weeks.  Thanks for understanding that I’ve needed to take it slow.

Maybe you’ve been worried because I’ve been flirting with other forms of exercise — the elliptical machine, the stationary bike.  Please don’t fret.  I would never leave you entirely for either of them.  They require planning and equipment, but with you, our times together are always so easy — out the door and there we are.  Yes, sometimes the time with you is hard.  There can be pain and fatigue.  But isn’t that the case in any good relationship?

I want to be clear, however, that other forms of exercise will always be in my life.  Fitness is not a marriage, and I won’t be tied down to you alone.  Biking and walking keep me well-rounded and flexible.  Still, I will always come back to you.

But today, I am saying goodbye for a few months.  Winters are always a strain on us, and this one will be so even more.  When you see me lying on the couch, foot on pillows, with someone catering to my needs, don’t think I’m enjoying myself.  I’ll be missing you, and looking forward to the spring when we can be together again.

With love,

Karen.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

