RSS Feed

Debt Sucks Big Rocks

I’ve never liked being in debt.  And in May of 2009 when Chef and I read Dave Ramsey‘s book The Total Money Makeover, we really got fired up about getting out of debt.  We got on a written budget and really started kicking that debt out of our lives.  We’ve been doing a pretty darn good job, too.

But now that we’ve had a decrease in income, I hate debt even more.

Hate it, hate it, hate it.

More than I hate reality shows on TV.  More than I hate scratchy sweaters.

It’s in a dead heat with lima beans.  That’s how much I hate debt.  And covering debt with ketchup doesn’t make it any more palatable.  At least lima beans have that going for them.

I’m not even sure how you would go about covering debt with ketchup.

Chef and I sat down together last week to do our budget.  We put some extra money in our emergency fund.  It will be good to have extra cushion until we’re able to get our income back up again.  We cut back on our fun money, and even lowered our grocery fund.  We had to put some money in the car repair envelope because my VW sounds like there’s a bird trapped under the hood, and the check engine light can’t decide whether to be on or off.  And the right front turn signal is out.

But when we were done, we had $87.20 that we can send toward our debt snowball.

We hadn’t been using our home account at all to pay the debt (except for the mortgage and one credit card, on which we are still paying minimums) because it was all being paid with the business funds.  Now that the business won’t be able to pay as much, we’re squeezing it out of the home accounts.

I’ve got our bed piled with blankets and flannel sheets and our big down comforter.  I’ve taken to wearing a hat in the house now that it’s getting cold, and when sitting on the couch to read or watch TV, we’re almost always snuggled under blankets so we can keep the thermostat set very, very low.

We’re getting used to those five powerful words again: It’s Not In the Budget!

Because we’re going to get there.  I don’t know how long it’s going to take us, but we WILL get there.

I’m still planning to celebrate with a margarita.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

